Illustration of a credit card paying full price at a cinema, with a later statement showing a 15% credit capped at $15.
Understand a card issuer's cinema statement creditGraphic: Cinemas in Action
Explore/Practical ideaObservedWhat this means

Understand a card issuer's cinema statement credit

Sistema FEDECRÉDITO in El Salvador offers a 15% statement credit on cinema tickets and concessions bought with its credit cards, capped at $15 a month per account and credited on a later statement after the customer reports the purchase.

Published 9/28/2026

Operator Briefing

The idea

Card-linked offers can promote cinema-going without the cinema changing its prices — but customers must understand it is not an at-till discount.

Evidence

Customers pay full price at any cinema in the country with a FEDECRÉDITO credit card, including online tickets and concessions, then report the purchase via the website, app or WhatsApp assistant by a stated deadline. A 15% credit appears on a statement after the promotion month.

Operator takeaway

The transferable value is the operating mechanism, not an assumed outcome. Adapt it with a clear baseline and decision rule.

Try this

If approached by a card issuer, agree who funds the benefit, how customers are told it is a later credit, and what data you receive.

Measure

Partner-card transactions; Average transaction value; Customer queries at the till; Incremental visits if data are shared.

Watch out for

Who funds the benefit is not stated. Participating operators are not named individually. Take-up and incremental visits are unpublished.

Operator, market and timing

Sistema FEDECRÉDITO, El Salvador. Monthly promotion, including September 2026. Terms reviewed 28 September 2026.

What the initiative does

Customers pay full price at any cinema in the country with a FEDECRÉDITO credit card, including online tickets and concessions, then report the purchase via the website, app or WhatsApp assistant by a stated deadline. A 15% credit appears on a statement after the promotion month.

Why it may matter to an operator

Card-linked offers can promote cinema-going without the cinema changing its prices — but customers must understand it is not an at-till discount.

Terms, eligibility and restrictions

Maximum credit $15 per month per account. Business credit cards excluded. Reporting a purchase does not mean the credit has been applied.

What is known and what remains unknown

Who funds the benefit is not stated. Participating operators are not named individually. Take-up and incremental visits are unpublished.

A practical adaptation or test (CIA suggestion)

If approached by a card issuer, agree who funds the benefit, how customers are told it is a later credit, and what data you receive.

Resources and commercial or operational risks

Partner negotiation and staff briefing. Risk: customer complaints at the till if the mechanism is misunderstood.

What to measure

Partner-card transactions; Average transaction value; Customer queries at the till; Incremental visits if data are shared.

Stay updated

Get new Cinemas in Action briefings by email.

Occasional operator briefings and new case studies — no marketing, no third parties.

Sign up for Cinemas in Action updates

We will use your contact details and professional information only to manage and personalise Cinemas in Action updates. You can unsubscribe at any time; every email will include clear unsubscribe instructions. Read our Privacy Notice.